Cambridge Lower Secondary Curriculum (Year 7 – Year 9)

Cambridge Lower Secondary Curriculum (Year 7 – Year 9)

Students enter Secondary School from the age of 11 and in Years 7 to 9 follow a course of study which provides a broad and balanced range of learning experiences. The curriculum includes the following core subjects:

1- English

2- Mathematics

3- Science

4- Art & Design

5- Computer Science

6- Physical Education and

7- Modern Languages (French as a Second Language) (Year 7)

Besides these Cambridge curriculum courses students also study the following subjects as per the requirement of the Ministry of Education, UAE.

8- Islamic Education (mandatory for Muslims)

9- Arabic (for Arabs & Non-Arabs)

10- Social Studies

11- Moral education

At the end of Year 9 students have to sit for transition checkpoint (Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint examination) conducted externally by Cambridge International Examination in three main study areas of the curriculum that include English, Mathematics, and Science.

These checkpoint examinations:

  • are a test to assess learning at the end of Cambridge Lower Secondary and provide evidence of readiness for the next stage
  • are available for English, Mathematics, and Science
  • test skills, knowledge, and understanding at the end of lower secondary curriculum for English, Mathematics, and Science.
  • are marked in Cambridge to provide an international benchmark of learners’ performance and learners receive a statement of achievement and a diagnostic feedback report.
  • give feedback reports to show how a learner has performed concerning the curriculum, their learning group, the whole school, and against all learners who have taken tests in that series around the world.
  • help teachers monitor group and individual performance and manage learning programs.